Happy Birthday to me and this blog.


Twenty-five must be the age of simplicity. Instead of going nuts for what people deemed a milestone birthday, I spent the night with my two closest friends and my older brother. Beer was had, as were wings. Stories were told, memories were shared, waitresses were ogled, movies were watched etc. Now I’m sipping a rum and coke in bed, writing this, listening to the less famous Phil Anselmo-fronted metal band. I’m 25 years old. This is neat.

I never envisioned myself as a 25 year old when I was younger. I never dreamed about what I’d be doing at 25, I just always imagined I’d figure it out and at some point and the ball would roll and I’d be doing whatever was expected of someone at that age. That didn’t happen. Sometimes I’m upset at myself for being unable to achieve some kind of stability over the years, but I’m also really proud of all the life experience I’ve gained for not going that traditional route. Lets see..in the last 24 years I:

-Pursued an ideal career in an industry I was interested in. It ended up not working in my favor, but I had so much fun doing it. Some of my past co-workers ended up being really important people in my life. Onto the next one.

-Found love for the first time. Lost love for the first time. Heartbreak for the first time. Drama for the first time. Losing dignity for the first time. Acting pathetic and stupid for the first time. Forgetting for the first time. Detaching for the first time. Moving on.. for the first time. It was joy, and pain. Sunshine, and rain…everything Rob Base ever rapped about. It was a nice time, it was a bad time. It was something that I wont forget. In the months that followed, I learned a lot about myself and about women and relationships.

-Met people. In the last 5 years I’ve met an interesting bunch of people. Some have become great friends, some I’ve accidentally lost contact with, some I’ve cut out of my life forever. I’ll probably repeat this process for the rest of my life.

-Continued my education! I feel like I’m on the right track. This past year has been quite a drag for a number of reasons, but school has kept me occupied enough to not worry about any negativity. I feel balanced, finally. I know what I want to do for a living. I know what I want to study. I know which universities I’m considering for my transfer. I’m really excited about this.

-Became metal as fuck. No explanation necessary.

That’s about it. This blog will probably disappear or be updated scarcely from now on. I started another site that is taking up my time and creativity. I’ve run out of things to say regarding my personal life anyway. So, I’m off to thank some people. Here is a picture of me as the Virgin Mary and Baby Jesus Cat.

 

 

Leave a Reply

