Stay the course.


Something that has stuck with me for a long time is the phrase “Stay the course.” I don’t know if it’s an actual saying, and I don’t care to Google it at the moment but I’ll never forget where I saw it. It was thumb-tracked to a cork board in my cousin’s bedroom. He was a college student at the time. Our uncle wrote “Stay the course” with a green sharpie on a piece of paper and placed it there. Its really the only thing my uncle has done that I’ve given a shit about. I purposely refrain from his once-a-year phone calls for reasons I’d rather not mention but that’s beside the point.

I never really could stay the course as a young person, but I stopped being a young’n a few years back. Recently, something clicked with me while I was doing some people watching at school. I realized how my poor decision making has kinda kept me in mediocrity over these last few years. A few hours of self-pity did me some good that day. I’ll be 25 in a few weeks. I think it’s time to stop fucking around and get things done. This is really the last shot I have at getting out of the funk that I put myself in. I’m ready to get on with my life. I’ve finally got the drive and the motivation to handle my biz.

All I need to do is stay the course and I’m golden.

4 Responses to “Stay the course.”

  1. Midge D Says:

    Being 44 and having led a completely feckless life that’s now come to bite me in the ass i say kudos on making positive steps to actually be doing something, hope you really do stay the course.
    (may i also suggest adding ‘buy quality paper in future’ to list, you can almost see plain through that stuff you’re holding 🙂 )
    All the best
    Midge

  2. LOL Says:

    GOOD LUCK MAYNE!

Leave a Reply

